Department of Mathematics

some math pictures
Tenured and Tenure-track
Federico Ardila
federico@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-7720
Thornton Hall 927
Algebraic, Geometric, and Topological Combinatorics
Javier Arsuaga
jarsuaga@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-7719
Thornton Hall 925
Mathematical and Computational Biology
Sheldon Axler
axler@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-1571
Thornton Hall 323
Harmonic Function Theory
Dean of the College of Science & Engineering
David Bao
dbao@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2251
Thornton Hall 937
Differential Geometry
Chair of the Department of Mathematics
Matthias Beck
mattbeck@sfsu.edu
(415) 405-3473
Thornton Hall 933
Discrete & Computational Geometry, Analytic Number Theory
Adviser for Math MA program
Yitwah Cheung
ycheung@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-1805
Thornton Hall 950
Dynamics, Ergodic Theory
David Ellis
dellis@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-1026
Thornton Hall 947
Applied Mathematics
Adviser for Math BA and Applied Math BS programs
Arek Goetz
goetz@sfsu.edu
(415) 405-0305
Thornton Hall 951
Dynamical Systems
Joseph Gubeladze
soso@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-7722
Thornton Hall 932
Algebraic K-theory, Algebraic Combinatorics, Toric Varieties
Eric Hayashi
hayashi@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-1368
Thornton Hall 945
Analysis
Serkan Hosten
serkan@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-7723
Thornton Hall 944
Commutative Algebra, Combinatorics, Algebraic Statistics
Adviser for Math MA program
Eric Hsu
erichsu@sfsu.edu
(415) 405-4190
Science 211
Mathematics Education
Adviser for the Math BA Concentration of Teaching program
Mohammad Kafai
kafai@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-7721
Thornton Hall 924
Statistics
Adviser for the Statistics BS program
Anne Krause
krause@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2252
Thornton Hall 943
Discrete Mathematics
Judith Kysh
jkysh@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2121
Burk Hall 59
Mathematics Education
Jean-Pierre Langlois
langlois@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2136
Thornton Hall 926
Game Theory
Shidong Li
shidong@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-1481
Thornton Hall 929
Wavelets
Adviser for the Math Minor program
Sergei Ovchinnikov
sergei@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-1387
Thornton Hall 931
Combinatorics
Alexandra Piryatinska
alpiryat@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-1623
Thornton Hall 942
Statistics
Neville Robbins
nrobbins@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-7725
Thornton Hall 934
Number Theory
Alex Schuster
schuster@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-7724
Thornton Hall 948
Analysis
Mariel Vazquez
mariel@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2071
Thornton Hall 928
Mathematical and Computational Biology, DNA Topology
Emeriti and Emeritae
Judith Ekstrand
ekstrand@sfsu.edu
Statistics
Newman H. Fisher
nfisher@sfsu.edu
Applied Mathematics, Ordinary Differential Equations
Robert Marcucci
marcucci@math.sfsu.edu
Mathematics Education
Susann Novalis Burton
novalis@sfsu.edu
Computational Mathematics
Diane Resek
resek@sfsu.edu
Mathematics Education, Logic
Franklin Sheehan
fsheehan@sfsu.edu
Statistics
James T. Smith
smith@sfsu.edu
History of Mathematics, Geometry, Logic
SF State Home